Discussion Thread: What Have You Been Reading in 2017?

reading

I spend a fair amount of time talking to all of you about what I’ve recently read, but seeing as we’re almost 1/4 of the way through the year, I thought now would be a good time to ask you, gentle readers, what you’ve been reading in 2017.

So, what have you read this year that you particularly enjoyed?

Have you read anything recently that you didn’t like?

What are you planning on reading next?

Is there a book you have been dying to read, if only the library would finally get it?

What would you like to see me review in 2017?

Be sure to tell us in the comments, either here or on Facebook!

Author: berryvillelibrary

"Growing a bigger, better library"

6 thoughts on “Discussion Thread: What Have You Been Reading in 2017?”

  1. I just finished Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. It took me a good two months to get through it. I liked it, but the footnotes were very annoying, even though I realize it’s part of the whole artistic license.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I encourage you to give it a try. It is long, and very detailed. I also encourage you to also give yourself permission not to finish it if you decide you can’t get through it. It’s beautifully written and I do love the storyline, so maybe just ignore the footnotes? I found that they distracted me beyond belief, and though they do add to the story, you can enjoy it and get through it without footnotes. And of course, there’s the option of watching it on Netflix streaming, where they do incorporate many of the footnotes.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s interesting about the adaptation using the footnotes. You’d think they would cut that. Hmm I’m thinking the book and the show might be a good future From Page to Screen blog post subject! Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Last month I started Game of Thrones and I’ve been slowly making my way through it since then. I’m enjoying the story thus far, it’s just taking me longer to get through it. When I read Fantasy I tend to prefer to be able to read with a little disruptions as possible, so I’ve only been reading the novel when I’m off from work and not busy…and those types of days have proven to be few and far between lol. I have also read quite a few things recently that I didn’t enjoy…they were all romances that I read for review purposes and I decided to get them all out of the way at one time. So, January was a month filled with unlikable novels! I wish that the public library where I live would be able add more manga and illustrated books and/or to replace those that have been in ‘lost’ status for years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

