2016 Library Challenge: A Book Set During Christmas

christmas

In my life, some have accused me of being a grinch.

But I think that’s less a reflection of my own thoughts on the holidays and more a reflection of other people’s enthusiasm for them.

I can’t even think about the holidays until December rolls around, so anytime I see Christmas decorations and advertising or hear Christmas songs in October and November, I have to restrain myself from reacting with more than a grimace or an eyeroll.

Oh I suppose I should just be happy people are enjoying themselves, but I can’t help but think, “Wait your turn, Christmas! Let pumpkins and turkeys get some attention first!”

But since we’re into December now, I think it’s safe to venture into holiday reading territory now, and I thought it would be fun to share Christmas reading traditions.

To that end, what’s your favorite book or story set during Christmas?

For me personally, I’ve always had a soft spot for O. Henry’s “Gift of the Magi.” I mean, I doubt anyone reads it as an annual tradition–I certainly don’t–but I think it encapsulates everything I like about O. Henry’s short stories.

Is there one you read every year as part of a holiday tradition?

I don’t actually read one every year, though I know a lot of people do. However, I do really enjoy Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol, even though I’m not a Dickens fan in general. One of the highlights of the holiday season for me, actually, is listening to the annual reading of it on the radio. In fact, I enjoy it so much that I may have once scheduled driving errands around when it was going to be performed and then ended up spending most of the time siting in my car listening to the radio. . .  .

What’s your favorite story set during Christmas? Does your family have any annual holiday reading tradition? Tell us in the comments!

Author: berryvillelibrary

"Growing a bigger, better library"

2 thoughts on “2016 Library Challenge: A Book Set During Christmas”

Leave a Reply

