2016 Library Challenge: A Book You Own But Have Not Read

books

Do you practice tsondoku?

You know, the practice of acquiring books and then leaving them unread, usually in piles, so they at least can keep each other company?

No?

Well, you might have a little harder time finding a book for this challenge. . . .

In my case, I have a lot of piles of unread books in my house, though in my defense I also have lots of piles of books I have read. And that’s not even counting the piles of library books!

I’m not sure that’s much of a defense, now that I think about it. Though I would like to point out that the picture with this blog post is not an actual picture of my books. My book piles aren’t quite so tall.

That being said, I remember being told as a child that all of my books would probably kill me in a cataclysmic avalanche one day and thinking that, all things considered, it might not be a bad way to go.

The worst part about having all those piles of unread books–besides the threat of death–is picking one because there are so many to choose from!

So, do you practice tsondoku? Or do you read all of the books you buy? Or do you maybe forgo buying books by just checking them out of the library? What book did you read for this challenge? Tell us in the comments!

 

 

 

 

Author: berryvillelibrary

"Growing a bigger, better library"

2 thoughts on “2016 Library Challenge: A Book You Own But Have Not Read”

Leave a Reply

