Ask the Blogger: Death Note/Shaman King

To manga or not to manga.  For me, it was a big NEVER, until last week.  I know this may be an inflammatory statement on my part, for some of you.  But it is the truth.  I had never read any manga and had never really wanted to read it.

However, a few months ago when I was at Books in Bloom, some of our teen volunteers were taking a break at my table, and I made them give me reading suggestions. Bradley told me I needed to read Death Note, and Dustin recommended Shaman King to me. I finally got around to reading their suggestions, and I’m happy to report that my introduction to manga was an enjoyable experience. (Thanks for the great recommendations, guys!)

Both Death Note and Shaman King have fantasy premises–the former revolves around a high school student who picks up a notebook that kills whoever has their name written in it while the latter focuses on a high school student who can communicate with ghosts and channel their powers.

I thought both books did a good job of setting up interesting premises that then evolved into action-packed, fast-paced storylines. I read both books in one sitting apiece because they both had addictive plots that made it impossible for me to set them down. I also thought both authors did a good job of effectively introducing the mythology surrounding their series throughout the story. I picked up both books not knowing much about them, but I didn’t find the stories hard to follow at all.

One reason I had never been interested in manga is the art style doesn’t really appeal to me–I think it’s usually a bit too stylized for my taste. However, I really did enjoy the artwork in Death Note. I also enjoyed how complex the story’s characters were and the philosophical discussions it introduced about the ethics of how its main character intends to use the death note (but without being too heavy-handed).

Shaman King was a lot more lighthearted, which I appreciated–I loved its sense of humor and how it didn’t take itself too seriously. I also liked how it took its time introducing the main character and his ghost companions before introducing the actual antagonist and overarching storyline.

If you’re looking for introductions to the genre, I think either one of these would be a good choice. If you prefer something more gritty and character-driven, give Death Note a try. And if you prefer something more upbeat and plot-driven, then consider Shaman King.

Just be forewarned that both books end on cliffhangers, so be prepared to read the rest of the series to find out what truly happens!

Death Note: Recommended for those who enjoyed Atsushi Ohkubo‘s Soul Eater, Naoki Urasawa’s Monster, and Sui Ishida’s Tokyo Ghoul.

Shaman King: Recommended for those who enjoyed Tite Kubo’s Bleach, Masashi Kishimoto’s Naruto, Kentaro Yabuki’s Black Cat, and Atsushi Ohkubo‘s Soul Eater.

Have you read either of these two series? Do you like reading manga? What’s your favorite manga series? Don’t forget that you can find more information on both of these books on our online library catalog.

 

 

Author: berryvillelibrary

"Growing a bigger, better library"

4 thoughts on “Ask the Blogger: Death Note/Shaman King”

  1. Manga was what helped grow my passion for reading and writing. Before I was really into large 300 page novels I was into picture books and comics. Manga opened my eyes to a new way of creative expression and for a while I was really passionate about becoming a manga creator but decided early in I was more set for the creative writing path. Death Note became popular while I was in high school so it was a large influence on what I was into at the time along with Bleach, Gundam Seed Destiny, and InuYasha.
    Death Note was the darker of the bunch and with it’s battle between good versus evil, and good intentions getting out of hand – this series helped me become interested in what was happening in the world outside of the classroom I was in. Seeing the interactions between Light and L taught me a different way to approach the typical protagonist/ antagonist positions. Death Note is a fascinating series and although I have never read Shaman King, I’m sure that one has its own reasons for standing out as a good read.
    Anyways, that’s enough rambling from me. I’m happy that you decided to write about these two and I look forward to reading more. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with manga! 🙂

      I think that’s what I enjoyed so much about Death Note–it really played with audience expectations/assumptions about heroes and villains. I can’t really think of anything else off the top of my head that I’ve read recently with that complex of a main character.

      I’m really looking forward to trying more manga. Any other series you’d recommend?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If you are looking for something a little lighter I would suggest Fruit Basket, as it is a classic. Another interesting series that I enjoyed was Soul Eater… and one more would be Fushigi Yûgi (this one is one of my all time favourites). 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

